It PAYS to know people

I mentioned earlier that I am one lucky guy. Well today was no exception. Last November I was in Cairo and saw some of the oldest architecture in the World. Today I got a chance to see the tallest building in the World, the Burj Khalifa. I had trouble getting the whole image in my camera lens.

I was also fortunate to find out that a friend of mine, the concierge at the Abu Dhabi Sheraton is now at the Dubai Mall. His name is Mr. Robert. During my seven months in Abu Dhabi, Mr. Robert was there to help me with luggage, desert safari reservations, you name it…..Mr. Robert was there.  So now Mr. Robert is one of the facility managers for the Dubai Mall. We met for lunch and he gave me a guided tour of the Mall. 1200 stores, a huge kids playground area, an indoor Olympic skating rink, waterfalls everywhere and three food courts.  I thought Starbucks was a little on the pricey side, just wait until you order a latte at the Armani coffee shop.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It PAYS to know people

  1. Donna says:

    Great pictures…you are so lucky! The waterfall is the so cool….

  2. Anne says:

    Your networking skills are unsurpassed!

  3. Jim Hill says:

    Explain the cliff-diving pic. How are the human forms suspended?

Leave a Reply

