Need more speed

Into my second day of Eid. I thought I would relax around the pool, but I got an email from an architect that I met thru my co-worker. Graham is an architect and a car enthusiast. He is somehow connected to the Porsche Club here in Dubai. He invited me to a VIP showing at the Dubai Autodrome. It is about 3 miles from my villa. This weekend is the Porsche GT3 race. So off I went to see how they do racing in Dubai. Well it is not like Speedway and it does not have room for 200,000 people. The area of town is as large or larger than Speedway, but it is still under-construction. I took a picture of their main grandstand area and it was like a ghost town…..they evidently stopped the project midway during the financial problems of 2008.

The Porsche 911 Kinetic system was on display. I am not exactly sure how it works, but it is Porsche’s attempt at a hybrid. I will have to do more research on what it is all about.

It was strange to see cars in the parking lot that the local Nationals are driving are nicer than the race cars. You could see Aston Martin, Lamborghini, Porsche, Jaguar, and Bentley. A BMW is just ho-hum around here.

The VIP lounge provided a buffet lunch area that overlooked the racetrack. They had everything, fish, beef, chicken, and about a dozen different types of dessert. Quite the spread. The photo of the dining area shows how they had the chair-covers and napkins and fancy glassware. A little different than a fold up table and metal chairs and a concrete floor. It was a good day……….got back to the villa in time to relax in the pool before the sun went down.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

