Busy place

Dubai and Abu Dhabi seem to be busy all of the time. We finished the Eid activities last week and this past weekend was the Formula One race in Abu Dhabi. I heard on the radio that Sir Paul McCartney and Britney Spears were making appearances at the Emirates Palace Hotel in Abu Dhabi. My invitation must be stuck in the mail.

This week in Dubai we have the Dubai Airshow going on at the Dubai airport. They fly over my villa on approach to the airport. Today a squadron of jets flew over my office and shot out colored plumes of smoke to represent the colors of the UAE flag. When I heard them buzzing the office I went into my Post Traumatic Syndrome (Libyan side effects) and thought about calling my boss to see if we need to evacuate again. You can never be too careful these days.

Next week is a large building construction trade show in downtown Dubai. I think I will check that out and see if it is similar to Neocon or trade shows at McCormick’s Place. I need to load up on some note pads and pens and pencils. Maybe they give away iPads in Dubai…..that would be nice.

Skydiving Dubai is the last week of November. I have been told that they skydive near my office, so I might get some good photos from the terrace outside my office window. That is all for November……have to slip all of this stuff in and around Thanksgiving.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy place

  1. archietek52 says:

    You never know….most of the events around here are FREE, so maybe somebody will be handing out some neat door prizes

Leave a Reply

