Thanksgiving – Friday

Well the big day has arrived in Dubai……Thanksgiving. We had to work on Thursday, so Friday was the first chance we had to celebrate this great holiday. My landlord and his wife really went all out for their villa residents and guests. We ended up with about 42 people sharing our traditional USA version of Thanksgiving. We had the usual food groups, salad, cranberries, cole slaw, turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, cornbread corn casserole, sweet potatoes, rolls and butter. We had all sorts of desserts to top off the meal from pumpkin pie to cheesecake to baklava.

Everyone had a great time and the event went from about 6:30 until 11:30. We spent the whole evening out on the deck near the pool. I think the temperature was about 72 degrees and just a few clouds in the sky.

Being away from home is very tough and I want to give thanks to my landlord and his family for providing me with such a terrific place to live and providing me meals and making me feel at home here in Dubai. I want to also give thanks for having a job and being able to take care of my family and give thanks to God for watching over my wife and family while I am away.

I have attached a few photos of how we had the tables arranged on the driveway area and a photo of the main attraction. Hope all of you following my blog had a great Thanksgiving.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving – Friday

  1. Stephanie Richard says:

    I’m sure this is a Thanksgiving you won’t forget. Sending you and your family all the best as you deal with being apart.

Leave a Reply

