United Arab Emirates – info

In case you are curious about who the leaders are of the UAE, I thought I would give you a little update. The United Arab Emirates will be celebrating their 40th year of being a union on December 2, 2011. We will probably get Thursday or Sunday off of work for a long Holiday weekend. A number of villas in my neighborhood are putting up UAE flags and banners in preparation for the big event.

The UAE is a federation of seven emirates (equivalent to principalities), each governed by a hereditary emir, with a single national president. The emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. The capital is Abu Dhabi, which is also the state’s center of political, industrial and cultural, activities.

Prior to independence in 1971, the UAE was known as the Trucial States or Trucial Oman, in reference to a 19th-century truce between the local sheikhs, hereditary rulers of the territories, and the United Kingdom.

The President of the UAE is His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nayan (he is from Abu Dhabi) and the Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE is His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum. The way the names are presented is Khalifa is the son of Sheikh Zayed and their family name is Nayan. Attached are photos of the two leaders of the UAE.

Sheikh Khalifa and Sheikh Mohammed


About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s