It Pays to sign up for stuff

Years ago when I was in Abu Dhabi, (2006/2007) I signed up for the SPG frequent traveler program at the Sheraton. I did not realize at the time that I was going to be living there for seven months. After that length of stay, I was probably considered to be a double Platinum member. I had over 100,000 points accumulated and used up a number of them to take vacations in the USA.

Now I am a regular SPG member, but the folks at the Sheraton Abu Dhabi are treating me like I am still a Platinum member. I am attending the World Energy Summit conference in Abu Dhabi this week. I thought, what the heck, I will stay at the Sheraton and see if it is still a great resort……IT IS. They let me check-in early, they gave me free internet, I have a sea-view and they said I could use the Club Lounge area for the happy hour.

I was checking out whether the internet was working at my desk and the room service guy shows up with chocolates, wine, fruit and cheese. I guess if the villa accommodations in Dubai do not work out, then I might have to move into the Sheraton for the rest of my project timeframe. So it pays to sign up for hotel frequent traveler plans…..I can vouch for that…….

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

