Mr. SandMan

Wouldn’t you know it…..the weekend (Friday/Saturday) comes around and the weather turns for the worse. Well the temperature got up to near 90 on Friday and is suppose to be 86 on Saturday. Usually that would be a great thing to have temps like that in February, but when the wind is blowing really hard and the sand is coming in from the East, it is no picnic. In fact so much sand was blowing around that we could not keep up with the sweeping of the dust and sand off the front porch. One of my villa-mates left their window down on their car and the seats were covered with sand. This sandstorm was still not like the Hollywood version in MI:4, but it was a little worse than the one we had about two weeks ago. I hope this is not a trend.

I decided to pickup some pizza for my villa-mates at the Mall of the Emirates. I found out what folks from Dubai do when there is a sandstorm. They go to the Mall. The place was packed. You would have thought it was Christmas again. Maybe they were taking advantage of the President’s Day sales. Wait a minute, that does not apply here. The parking lot was very full. I had to park on the roof of the garage to find a place. It would have been a waste of money to get a car wash at the Mall, since the sand was still blowing. While cutting thru the parking garage to get to the food court I must have had that “sell me something look” on my face. Two guys pulled up next to me and wanted to sell me some Armani suits from the trunk of their car. Ok, I had on jeans and a golf shirt and it probably looked like I needed an Armani suit, but come on, out of the trunk of a car. I buy my Armani suits down at the Armani Hotel at the Burj Khalifa Tower.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mr. SandMan

  1. John Crane says:

    You need to look good.

Leave a Reply

