Don’t call me a traitor

Now that I am spending more time at the job site in Abu Dhabi, I thought I would explore the surrounding area a bit. Since my project is so close to the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Center (ADNEC), there are a couple of hotels close by. One is a Starwood Hotel (ALoft) that is across the street and the other is a Premier Inn. Both are very nice. I like the ALoft better since I can rack up points on my Starwood frequent traveler card.

The Premier Inn has a coffee shop in the lobby called, COSTA. The Costa shops compete with Starbucks, so since I cannot use my SBUX Gold Card I am trying to get in good with the Costa coffee guy. I got a punch card yesterday and since I had been there once with one of the other guys from the job site, he punched my card three times. I think I will like this guy.

While drinking coffee I noticed an Emirati guest go thru the lobby of the hotel. She was wearing her traditional abaya (black outer garment), but instead of a black scarf over her hair, she opted to go a little out of the norm and wore a Burberry scarf instead. It had a distinctive look about it, but I am not sure how the locals might accept the fashion statement. Better not let Joan Rivers and the fashion police see that one.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t call me a traitor

  1. NIcki says:

    I think the Burberry scarf would look awesome! Well done, Emerati lady! You have approval from across the pond.

Leave a Reply

