Don’t take directions well

It has been said that men do not like to ask for directions. Well, I have been lost a few times in Dubai, so I purchased a GPS unit to help me find my way around. I guess you could say that I still do not ask for directions, I just let the British Lady (we will call her Miss MoneyPenny) in my GPS unit to tell me where to go. I am beginning to think that this Garmin machine has its own personality. Sort of like HAL on 2001 Space Odyssey.

I had programmed the GPS to take me to my Saturday morning church men’s group. I put in the LAT/LONG of the location and it appeared to know where I should go. There is so much road construction going on around here, that half the time MoneyPenny will tell me one thing and I would have to go the other way to dodge the road barricades.

Today, I was turning left every time MoneyPenny told me to go right, so she stopped talking to me. Crazy GPS system was giving me the silent treatment. Finally she said, “make a U turn as soon as possible….” I could sense the frustration in her voice. I finally got to my destination but it was quite an ordeal. I keep thinking that MoneyPenny might take me way out of my way just to teach me a lesson. Maybe I should have purchased the extended warranty on the GPS in case it gets mysteriously thrown on to the floor of the car.

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

