Where Am I ??

OK, I have almost been in Dubai for one year. I got here at the end of October, 2011. For the life of me, I do not know what it is about me or my car or maybe it is the way I zip around town in traffic……but in the past month or so, I have been asked by locals (or what appears to be locals) for DIRECTIONS.

One day it was a young man dressed in his dish/dash with his grandfather in the front seat and they needed directions to Al Barsha which is the next sub-division near my villa. A few days ago, a group of locals in a new Mercedes, pulled up to me at the stop/go light and asked directions to a major highway East of my villa. Today, an Indiana woman pulled up to me at the stop/go light and asked for directions to another area of town near my office. I told her to follow me since I was heading that way. She was following me for about three blocks and the next thing I knew she pulled off on to another road and went her own merry way to a different part of town. I hope she got to her destination.

Do you think an American in a little Toyota looks like he knows where everything is in Dubai?? Maybe since I am wearing my new Ray-Ban sunglasses, maybe they do not know that I am not a local………let me know if you have any thoughts on this matter…….

About archietek52

Architect, artist, author, designer, lecturer and world traveller
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Am I ??

  1. Bob Pison says:

    Ok, turn left (west) go 7298 miles to the corner of 131st and st. rd. 37. Head back to the pharmacy and ask Bob or any of the helpful technicians for directions. We never close and always make it CVS easy!!! πŸ™‚

  2. DWIGHT CHERNISH says:

    Maybe you’ve been in the sun so long you look like a native.

  3. Ha. Interesting. When I was in Tokyo (absolutely lost most of the time), I had someone ask me if I lived there. He said it was because I was just carrying a small purse rather than a backpack like most American tourists. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

